UNESCO-L'OREAL Fellowships

Updated: 5 months ago
Deadline: The position may have been removed or expired!

Closing date: 12/04/2019   

The L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science initiative began in 1998 and since that time the L’Oréal Foundation and UNESCO (the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization) have strived to support and recognise accomplished women researchers, encourage more young women to enter the profession and to assist them as they progress their careers.

Globally the program has recognised more than 2250 women in 110 countries, honoured 87 International Laureates for excellence in science (including two women who went on to be awarded a Nobel Prize) and awarded over 2200 talented young female scientists to pursue their promising research projects.

The program in Australia & New Zealand awards four $25,000 Fellowships each year - three for Australia and one for New Zealand. Applications for the 2016 Fellowships are now open.

here are 47 National Programs run by L’Oréal subsidiaries around the world. Each National Fellowship helps women scientists at a critical point in their career to continue to pursue their research with flexible financial aid.


The L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Australia & New Zealand Fellowships were launched in 2007 and have recognised 30 outstanding local scientists, supporting them to continue their research and help them rise to leadership positions in their field of expertise.

Each Fellow is awarded $25,000 for a one year project. This is intended to provide practical help for the winners to undertake research in their chosen fields and the winners may choose to spend their fellowship on buying scientific equipment, paying for child care costs, conference & travel costs or indeed whatever they may need to continue their research.

Within the Australian & New Zealand program there are four Fellowships available:

Three $25,000 L’Oréal Australia For Women in Science Fellowships
One $25,000 L’Oréal New Zealand For Women in Science Fellowship (the inaugural New Zealand Fellowship was awarded in 2015)

The National Fellows must be within five years of their PhD for research at an Australian or New Zealand academic or research institution.

Applications close 12 April 2018.

For guidelines and application forms:

Visit : https://www.forwomeninscience.com.au/

Application cannot be accepted before 12/01/2019.

View or Apply

Similar Positions