Killam Doctoral Scholarships

Updated: about 4 hours ago
Deadline: 01 Sep 2023

View All Awards
Likely in September 2023
Annual Value
$30,000 per annum for two years, $2,000 allowance for research-related travel during the 24 months of the scholarship, and tuition
Permanent Resident
Degree Level


The Killam Scholarship and Prize Programmes were established in memory of Izaak Walton Killam through the Will of his wife, Dorothy J. Killam, and through gifts made during her lifetime. Their primary purpose is to support advanced education and research at five Canadian universities and the Canada Council for the Arts. The UBC Killam Doctoral Scholarships are provided annually from the Izaak Walton Killam Memorial Fund for Advanced Studies. It was Mrs. Killam's desire that those selected to receive scholarships: "Be likely to contribute to the advancement of learning or to win distinction in a profession. A Killam scholar should not be a one-sided person... Special distinction of intellect should be founded upon sound character."

Killam Doctoral Scholarships are the most prestigious awards available to graduate students at UBC. Approximately 25 awards are offered each year to the top doctoral candidates in the Affiliated Fellowships competition . At present, the Killam Doctoral Scholarship provides an annual stipend valued at $30,000 for two years plus a $2,000 allowance for research-related travel during the 24 months of the scholarship*.

*Killam Doctoral Scholarships awardees on the UBC-Vancouver campus also become Four Year Fellowship holders and receive additional tuition funding from the 4YF program if they are eligible.



To be eligible to apply for Killam Doctoral Scholarship funding, applicants must have completed no more than 24 months of doctoral study as of the start date of the scholarship. Therefore, applicants to the 2023-2024 competition must have completed no more than 24 months of doctoral study as of 1 September 2023.

Evaluation Criteria

Evaluated via Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition . Top students in the Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition are awarded Killam Doctoral Scholarships.

Application Procedures

The Killam Doctoral Scholarships are part of the Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition.  To be considered for the Killam Doctoral Scholarships, you must apply for the Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition .

Nomination Procedures

Nominated via the Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition .

Adjudication Procedures

Adjudicated via the Affiliated Fellowships-Doctoral award competition .

Meet Award Holders

Fiana Kawane

Doctor of Philosophy in English (PhD)

Toward lyric disunities: Late modern political ecologies of South Asian diasporic poetry, 1970s to 2000s

Ryan Schroeder

Doctor of Philosophy in Religious Studies (PhD)

Hebrew Bible and the Ancient Near East

Enav Zusman

Doctor of Philosophy in Reproductive and Developmental Sciences (PhD)

Associations between prenatal serotonin reuptake inhibitor antidepressant exposure-related longitudinal changes in stress regulation and mood across childhood

Raquel Baldwinson

Doctor of Philosophy in English (PhD)

Global health doubt: Belief and the grammars of global health

Jordan Squair

Doctor of Medicine and Doctor of Philosophy (MDPhD)

Autonomic dysfunction following spinal cord injury: mechanisms, novel treatments, and clinical reality

Anthea Pun

Doctor of Philosophy in Psychology (PhD)

Phylogenetic and Ontogenetic Foundations of Social Power Reasoning

Roland Nadler

Doctor of Philosophy in Law (PhD)

Reconciling Democracy and Technocracy in the Age of Courtroom Neuroscience

Sophie Ma Zhu

Doctor of Philosophy in Measurement, Evaluation and Research Methodology (PhD)

Validity evidence for self-report psychological measures based on participants' response processes

Cassandra Elphinstone

Doctor of Philosophy in Botany (PhD)

Arctic Plant Genomics: Climate Adaptation

View All Stories

Further Information

The Killam Laureates website provides information about Killam programs across Canada and information about the original donors, Izaak Walton and Dorothy J. Killam.

View or Apply

Similar Positions